Give, Laugh, Love

Happy October, Sunshines,

October brings the changing of seasons and falling leaves. We are transitioning into the season of giving, and compliments are an awesome way to give. Take a moment and give the next stranger you see a genuine compliment. So often we appreciate something about someone but we never let them know what we are thinking. Tell a stranger that you love their shoes, or that their smile lights up the room.

Don’t stop there, though, strike up a conversation with this person. Even if it short and feels awkward (trust me it will be), that’s okay. It is a beautiful thing to know that people want to talk to you. One of the saddest moments is being in a world full of people, and feeling completely alone. That is all we really want after all is the attention of others, to love and to be loved. If we take a measly three minutes out of our day to speak to a stranger then the world will be a brighter place. Yeah, maybe the person you talk to might think you are incredibly weird and talk about you when you leave. However, the alternative is that you brighten their day and you both are better for it. The conversation could end up being something you remember for the rest of your life.

You can make an impact on a stranger’s life and never even know it. There are so many people in my life that have impacted me, but will never know because I may never see them again.

Two incredible young men I met while working in Disney come to mind. The story is slightly too long to tell, but the gist of it was that they started a conversation with me which led to a memory that will last a lifetime. They had no way of knowing that I was going through a rough time. I was living alone, after all my friends had left the program before I did. I missed my family more than ever and all I wanted to do was go back home. I was in “The Happiest Place on Earth” yet I was anything but happy. These young men however, brought back the sunshine. They helped me see Disney as a happy place again rather than somewhere I was miserable and alone. All because they took a few minutes out of their day to talk to the girl who worked at the gift shop.

Moral of the story is, break the rule everyone has told you since Kindergarten: don’t talk to strangers. I am telling you do talk to strangers! Talk to those strangers and I promise you will meet some pretty incredible people with some amazing stories. October brings the changing of lives and falling insecurities.

Be the sunshine!

Give, Laugh, Love Sunshines!

6 thoughts on “Give, Laugh, Love

Leave a Reply

